The year indicates the year of Inscription in the List, NOT the year of visit

Find the original: (frames) (non-frames)

The World Heritage List
Alphabetically by State Party

The 721 properties which the World Heritage Committee has inscribed on the World Heritage List (554 cultural, 144 natural and 23 mixed properties in 124 States Parties)

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List. The List, arranged alphabetically by nominating State Party, is current as of December 2001. The list will be updated following the next meeting of the Committee in June 2002.


1982 Tassili n'Ajjer
1982 M'Zab Valley
1992 Kasbah of Algiers


1984 Iguazu National Park
2000 Jesuit Block and Estancias of Córdoba
2000 Ischigualasto/ Talampaya Natural Parks

2001 Historic Centre of Vienna


1998 Grand-Place, Brussels
2000 Major Town Houses of the Architect Victor Horta (Brussels)


1986 Iguaçu National Park
1991 Serra da Capivara National Park


1981 Roman Theatre and its Surroundings and the "Triumphal Arch" of Orange
1981 Roman and Romanesque Monuments of Arles
1983 Cape Girolata, Cape Porto, Scandola Nature Reserve and the Piana Calanches in Corsica
1985 Pont du Gard (Roman Aqueduct)
1991 Paris, Banks of the Seine
1995 Historic Centre of Avignon
1998 Historic Site of Lyons


1978 Aachen Cathedral
1990 Palaces and Parks of Potsdam and Berlin
1996 Cologne Cathedral
1999 Museumsinsel (Museum Island), Berlin


1987 Acropolis, Athens


1984 Vatican City  


1983 Agra Fort
1983 Taj Mahal
1986 Fatehpur Sikri
1988 Nanda Devi National Park
1999 Darjeeling Himalayan Railway


1991 Borobudur Temple Compounds
1991 Prambanan Temple Compounds


1982 Historic Centre of Florence
1987 Venice and its Lagoon
1987 Piazza del Duomo, Pisa
1995 Historic Centre of Siena
1999 Villa Adriana (Tivoli)
2001 Villa d'Este, Tivoli


1980, 1990 Historic Centre of Rome, the Properties of the Holy See in that City Enjoying Extraterritorial Rights, and San Paolo Fuori le Mura


1994 City of Luxemburg: its Old Quarters and Fortifications


1981 Medina of Fez
1985 Medina of Marrakesh
1987 Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou


1983 Monastery of the Hieronymites and Tower of Belem in Lisbon
1983 Monastery of Batalha
1988 Historic Centre of Evora
1995 Cultural Landscape of Sintra
1996 Historic Centre of Oporto
1998 Prehistoric Rock-Art Sites in the Côa Valley
2001 Alto Douro Wine Region


1984 Historic Centre of Cordoba
1984 Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzin, Granada
1984 Burgos Cathedral

1993 Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida

1996 Historic Walled Town of Cuenca

1984 Monastery and Site of the Escurial, Madrid
1984 Parque Güell, Palacio Güell and Casa Mila in Barcelona
1985 Old Town of Segovia and its Aqueduct
1985 Santiago de Compostela (Old Town)
1985 Old Town of Avila, with its Extra-Muros churches
1986 Historic City of Toledo
1986 Old Town of Caceres
1987 Cathedral, Alcazar and Archivo de Indias in Seville
1988 Old City of Salamanca
1997 The Palau de la Música Catalana and the Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona
2001 Aranjuez Cultural Landscape


1979 Medina of Tunis
1988 Medina of Sousse
1988 Kairouan


1979 Grand Canyon National Park
1980 Redwood National Park
1984 Yosemite National Park


The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

Inquiries should be sent to :

UNESCO World Heritage Centre
7 Place de Fontenoy
75352 Paris 07 SP, France